top of page

Kids & Mobile Phones- When is the Right Time?

For the past year, my 10 year old has been asking for his own phone, I don’t see the need why he needs one but I do see why some children would need one to communicate with family due to separation or walking to school.

I know why he wants his own phone, freedom over Apps, not worrying if his younger sisters go on his games and easier access to YouTube. I don’t see these as good enough reasons why he should have one yet.

The main issue why I say no to him is I don’t feel he’s ready for the responsibility, he loses his school diary, hat, books weekly- I could just see him misplacing a phone easily. I have the belief there really is no perfect age to owning a phone, it’s all about if the child is ready for the responsibility.

If a phone is given to a younger child due to spending weekends at their other parent's house, will the phone be with them at all times or will it be taken at night? It’s important to set boundaries that everyone feels comfortable with.

The main issue with a child still in primary school and even teens is the access to sites, chats sites, sending pictures, talking to strangers etc. To be responsible within the digital world the child needs to know about their digital footprint and ways to protect their digital reputation.

With teens they want freedom, they might see their online habits private and don’t feel comfortable with you knowing about their online usage. This is the main reason you need to be sure they’re mature and responsible enough- remember you’re the parent and decide what rules are best for your child.

I’m all for phones for kids due to safety reasons, there are phones, even watches that are designed for kids but these might be out of many families budgets, I think the GPS services on these devices are the most important- more than just being able to make a call. I will look into these and do a price comparison post, I do also know about ways to use your iPhone to track friends and family, which could be used to keep track of your child- this post will be for next week.

I’m more inclined to give my child an iPhone so I can do family Sharing, this way I know what Apps are being downloaded and what websites are accessed.

Just to sum up, I think the right age is when your child is responsible, respect their school's and parent’s rules.

Kids & Mobile Phones- When is the Right Time?

Real Parents Comment

“I think high school is fair enough. Before then they have no real need to have one but I think they can be trusted enough to earn the responsibility at 13”

“My 8 yr. old keeps asking and he keeps getting a firm no way. He has an iPad for apps and games and he doesn't need that at school so I think that's enough till high school and then he will get a cheap prepaid phone. He will earn his credit and it will depend on behaviour as to how often credit is given to him”

“I think high school, as well as a lot of high schoolers, walk ride etc. But in saying that for kids that walk to school (primary) should have one with a call mum/dad feature just in case of anything happening”

“I think a really cheap phone just for messaging and calls when they first get to high school and then they use that until they get a job and can save to buy a better one, that way they are more careful as they bought it. The smartphones are a gateway to cyber bullying so I think they are a no go until at the very least 16.”

“I'd have more issues with social networking & the creeps that are on the net then bullying although both are pretty high on the concern list add to that the crap that they will see, kids are spouse to be innocent but these days I reckon a 10 yr. old would be able to explain sex better than most adults”

“Cheap phone if there in primary school so if there’s an emergency walking to school or playing with friends after school at a park or something.”

“Instead of a phone why not buy a smart watch. It pairs up with your phone so all the child has to do is press a button to answer or call. It can store a few phone numbers too.”

“I got a cheap crappy phone when I was 9 so my mum could contact me as she couldn't be civil with my dad so dad got me a phone but I only got it when I was at home & after my chores and homework were done”

“My cousin is almost 11 my aunt has just given her first phone, only because my uncle and aunt have split up and my aunt wants my cousin to be able to contact her etc.. I'm not sure I agree with the age tbh But then again I got my first phone at 10 although it was completely pointless it did no harm but Facebook and stuff weren't around back then and I only got a cheapie compared to the phones these days.”

“Mine got their first mobiles in high school.”

“I got my first mobile at 8 years - I got it for the wrong reasons my dad got it cos mum said no Parents were divorced There were pros to it though - I could contact either parent when I wanted to - I could use my phone in emergency - one time one of my friends got her period and was too embarrassed to ask teacher so she called home - yes she was 8 - also, when I was at mates, if I ever felt unsure I didn't have to bother mates parents in the middle of the night I just called mum - it taught me responsibility - credit was placed on it once every month and that had to last me the month - I had to charge it.’

“My daughter who has just turned 10 and I have spoken in depth about this. She came to the conclusion that she does not need a phone until she is able to buy credit for it. Her other reason is that anyone she talks to can contact her through my phone and if she needs to contact anyone she can use my phone to do so.”

“I had a cheap phone when I was in grade 6 (11y) or 7(12y) but it was for emergency calls only... I didn't get a Sim card till I got to year 8 (13yo).”

“We got my oldest son one when he was around 8 or 9 so that we could reach him when he was out playing with friends. There's a GPS tracker app on it so I can track him.”

“My son had a phone at age of 3 due to be being in hospital”

“13. When they become a teenager. And just a phone to call and text and prepaid not on a plan with no access to the Internet.”

“My little brother had had a phone since he was 10. Just means he can contact mum while at a friend’s houses if he's missed the bus or forgotten something. Also helps a lot as my brother visits his dad on occasions and he is able to let mum know he's ok etc... I think it's a great idea! It's only a cheap phone so if it gets lost I guess it doesn't really matter.”

“I’m going to get my son a phone as soon as he can use one, so he can call me when he's at his dads and his dad can whenever”

“ I got a really cheap one when I was in like year 5/ year 6 Only because in England we always used to play outside with the neighbours so I had one with my parent's numbers on just In case ”

“I got one when I was 9 just a cheap Nokia so I could contact my dad if I ever needed to, I didn’t live with him, he brought my credit monthly and I had to make it last”

“I think a cheap one in primary if they’re ever without adult supervision (after school activities, walk to and from school etc.) then as they get older and more responsible you would give them more freedom. Plans instead of prepaid, better phone etc.”

 

I would like to thank all the parents who commented on my post and the admin for allowing me to ask the question- seeing real answers helps other parents make an informed decision.

Keep the discussion going, what are your thoughts? Comment below


FOLLOW ME:

  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
bottom of page